Ebsco changes
This Ebsco search screen is not the same as last year. Instead of searching Academic Search Complete, it searches Ebscohost Integrated Search, a search engine that searches across several different databases. Some of these databases are from Ebsco, and some are from other vendors.
What are the differences?
- It searches several databases rather than just one big database. You can see what's being searched on the lower right hand screen of the results page.
- It has some of the same functionality as before, but some capabilities are not there or are limited. For example:
- You can't limit to SOU print journals (yet). However, you can limit to full-text. (Please note that you can still limit to print from Ebsco databases such as PsycInfo or MLA.)
- You can still save things to your folder, but you won't be able to see non-Ebsco items unless you click on "Other Content Sources" (on the left).
- You can't export non-Ebsco items to RefWorks (yet).
- It often only gives you some of the results it's found. You can see more by scrolling though all the results you have, or by refocusing your search.
Why the change?
Searching several databases to get all the best information on a topic can be very tedious. This allows you to search several databases at once.
A few tips
- If your topic is in a particular discipline, try going to one of our research pages (in the dropdown at the top of the homepage or here) and use the search box listed there. That box is set to search databases that appropriate for that discipline.
- You can adjust the databases being searched on the lower right hand of the screen after you've searched the first time.