FIRST STEP: Check the Known Problems
Are you a Macintosh User? Our off-campus database access system will not currently work with any version of Internet Explorer for the Macintosh. Mac users should use Safari.
Do you use Internet Explorer 5.0 (or below)? Some versions of IE 5.0 and below don't have the proper encryption routines to work with our system. To access our system you will need to upgrade to IE 5.5 or 6.0 (see the link below).
1. To see what version of IE you have, click on "Help" and then "About Internet Explorer".
2. If you need to upgrade you can download a copy from Microsoft's Web site.
Do you use American Online? You may or may not have a problem using AOL's built-in Web browser. If you do, you have some options:
1. Connect to AOL as you normally do, then minimize the AOL program and use Netscape.
2. (PC Only) Upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer. You can download a copy from Microsoft's Web site.
SECOND STEP: Consider each question and follow the steps provided.
1. Are you currently registered? Only staff, faculty and currently registered students can access these databases from off campus.
2. If you are a student, are you typing only your username and not your context on the login line?TRY carefully reading the directions for using our off campus database access system.
3. Are you using the password you use to login into the network and not necessarily your email? (students can have two different passwords, even though they are originally both set to their birthdays).
TRY checking with one of the the student labs for help with your passwords: CSC Lab - 26969 (then press "0" to skip the recording), Library ITC Lab - 26848.
4. Did you have the problem on more than one database?
TRY connecting to two or three databases from our title list and see if you can connect. It may be that the particular database you are connecting too has reached is limit of users or the database is down temporarily.
THIRD STEP:
If you tried all of the above and are still having problems please write down the following information and call or email Jim Rible at 541/552-6821 or rible@sou.edu.
A. The database you were trying to access.
B. Did you get the campus login page (it looks like this).
C. What happened? What showed up on the screen? Be as detailed as possible.
D. The IP address of your computer.
NOTE: Your IP address is 38.103.63.60
E. The Web browser you were using and what version (i.e. Netscape 4.6, IE 4.5, AOL, etc)
F. The type of computer you were using (i.e. Mac or PC).G. The time of day you were trying to access the database.